Medieval festival at Châteauneuf-du-Pape (Vaucluse) 08.08.2010

If you have enjoyed this short article, you can visit my two first blogs:       http://huberaime.spaces.live.com/    and: http://tabbychat.spaces.live.com/      If you don’t read French, have a look anyway at some photos among more than 1000. Look also at the Archives, on top of the page. Please write me there:         huberaime@hotmail.fr

Châteauneuf-du-Pape, located between Avignon and Orange, and overlooking the Rhone valley’s left bank, is famous for its outstanding wines. On its hill, a tall wall of the village’s former castle, which suffered a lot during its long history, is still standing proudly as a landmark visible from far away. See also HERE. In the locality, the medieval festival takes place every year in the heart of summer, when the grapes begin to take their colour and bend the vine branches under their weight.

Handicraft demonstrations, tournaments, processions and camp life are offering their colourful shows for two days. I let you admire.

The ‘Pope’ himself has made the trip.

You’ll be able to see us at our stall about spinning (see HERE) at Monieux festival on 5th September.        Huberaime

About Huberaime

Enseignant, né en 1955, passionné de photo, nature, rando et patrimoine provençal. N'hésitez pas à m'écrire si vous voulez gratuitement des photos non filigranées, faire des sorties avec nous ou simplement échanger des impressions: huberaime@hotmail.fr
This entry was posted in Non classé. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Medieval festival at Châteauneuf-du-Pape (Vaucluse) 08.08.2010

  1. nicholas keeley says:

    I have stumbled across your photos and profile after thinking of a visit to the Chateau Neuf du Pape medieval festival some four or five years ago.
    I am actually an ex-science teacher here in England (well, Wales actually!) and, along with many Brits, dream of moving to your wonderful part of the world permanently. I am actually a year older than you and , to be honest, feel very envious!!……….photography, especially of natural history, and taking people on guided walks as part of a visit to Provence or the Languedoc is my main dream.
    I wonder whether it would be possible to come over and say hello? I note that you mention an outing, but how does this work?
    I reckon my dreams will stay just that, but it would be good to re-visit the area, especially with input from someone who knows and loves the area as much as you obviously do. I actually have a little two year old son, Harry and want to bring him over even though he is a little young to appreciate the delights of the area. Maybe you are never too young for that though? Anyway, excellent photos, and all the best for the future,
    Kind regards, Nic Keeley

    • Huberaime says:

      Thank you, Nicholas, for your long, interesting and kind letter. Let me know when you come in Provence; perhaps we’ll be able to meet and do an outing together. You can also write to me here: huberaime@hotmail.fr
      I like your country and I spent a couple of holidays in England and Scotland a long time ago. I know Gloucester area but infortunately I visited little of Wales, albeit close to it.
      I hope there are not too many grammar mistakes in my writing; I check carefully but sometimes I’m not sure whether it’s right or not. I would love a teacher! Best regards. Huberaime

Leave a Reply

